ravenotation

My LibriVox recordings & my reading journal (solo Litblog).

The Pool by Paul Laurence Dunbar

LibriVox logoLibriVox volunteers bring you 20 recordings of The Pool by Paul Laurence Dunbar (1872-1906).
This was the Weekly Poetry project for May 20th to May 27th, 2012.

Paul Laurence Dunbar (June 27, 1872 – February 9, 1906) was an African American poet, novelist, and playwright of the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Much of his popular work in his lifetime used a Negro dialect, which helped him become one of the first nationally-accepted African American writers. Much of his writing, however, does not use dialect; these more traditional poems have become of greater interest to scholars.
(Summary by Wikipedia)


 
http://www.archive.org/download/pool_1205_librivox/pool_dunbar_rn_64kb.mp3″Running time=1m 25s (mp3@64kb)

Download locations: mp3 128kb : mp3 64kb : ogg vorbis.
Catalogue pages: LibriVox, Internet Archive.
Zip of the entire book (9.2MB@64kb), featuring all 20 readers of this poem, with a total running time of 19m 09s.

In addition to the readers, this audio book was produced by:
Book Coordinator: David Lawrence
Meta-Coordinator/Cataloging: David Lawrence

The Pool
By the pool that I see in my dreams, dear love,
I have sat with you time and again;
And listened beneath the dank leaves, dear love,
To the sibilant sound of the rain.

And the pool, it is silvery bright, dear love,
And as pure as the heart of a maid,
As sparkling and dimpling, it darkles and shines
In the depths of the heart of the glade.

But, oh, I ‘ve a wish in my soul, dear love,
(The wish of a dreamer, it seems,)
That I might wash free of my sins, dear love,
In the pool that I see in my dreams.

This week’s poem can be found here.

Author: raven

Anonymous ;-)

Comments are closed.