ravenotation

My LibriVox recordings & my reading journal (solo Litblog).

The House by the Side of the Road by Sam Walter Foss

LibriVox logoLibriVox volunteers bring you 18 recordings of The House by the Side of the Road by Sam Walter Foss (1858-1911).
This was the Fortnightly Poetry project for January 15th to January 29th, 2012.

Sam Walter Foss was an American librarian and poet whose works included The House by the Side of the Road and The Coming American.
Foss used to write a poem a day for the newspapers, and his five volumes of collected poetry are of the frank and homely “common man” variety.
Longtime baseball announcer Ernie Harwell alluded to one of Foss’s poems whenever he described a batter taking a called third strike: “He stood there like the house by the side of the road and watched it go by.”
( Summary from Wikipedia )


 
http://www.archive.org/download/housebytheside_1201_librivox/housebytheside_foss_rn_64kb.mp3″Running time=2m 33s (mp3@64kb)

Download locations: mp3 128kb : mp3 64kb : ogg vorbis.
Catalogue pages: LibriVox, Internet Archive.
Zip of the entire book (20.6MB@64kb), featuring all 18 readers of this poem, with a total running time of 42m 58s

In addition to the readers, this audio book was produced by:
Book Coordinator: David Lawrence
Meta-Coordinator/Cataloging: David Lawrence

The House by the Side of the Road
THERE are hermit souls that live withdrawn
In the place of their self-content;
There are souls like stars, that dwell apart,
In a fellowless firmament;
There are pioneer souls that blaze the paths
Where highways never ran-
But let me live by the side of the road
And be a friend to man.

Let me live in a house by the side of the road
Where the race of men go by-
The men who are good and the men who are bad,
As good and as bad as I.
I would not sit in the scorner’s seat
Nor hurl the cynic’s ban-
Let me live in a house by the side of the road
And be a friend to man.

I see from my house by the side of the road
By the side of the highway of life,
The men who press with the ardor of hope,
The men who are faint with the strife,
But I turn not away from their smiles and tears,
Both parts of an infinite plan-
Let me live in a house by the side of the road
And be a friend to man.

I know there are brook-gladdened meadows ahead,
And mountains of wearisome height;
That the road passes on through the long afternoon
And stretches away to the night.
And still I rejoice when the travelers rejoice
And weep with the strangers that moan,
Nor live in my house by the side of the road
Like a man who dwells alone.

Let me live in my house by the side of the road,
Where the race of men go by-
They are good, they are bad, they are weak, they are strong,
Wise, foolish – so am I.
Then why should I sit in the scorner’s seat,
Or hurl the cynic’s ban?
Let me live in my house by the side of the road
And be a friend to man.

This fortnight’s poem can be found here.

Author: raven

Anonymous ;-)

Comments are closed.