ravenotation

My LibriVox recordings & my reading journal (solo Litblog).

Song by Tobias George Smollet

LibriVox logoLibriVox volunteers bring you 16 recordings of Song by Tobias Smollett (1721-1771). This is the weekly poem starting from October 16th to October 23rd, 2011. It’s a lovely love song. ( Summary by Stav Nisser )
Taken from the Poetical Works of Johnson, Parnell, Gray, and Smollett by Thomas Gray et al.

Smollett, for variety of powers, and indefatigable industry, has seldom been surpassed. He was a politician, a poet, a physician, a historian, a translator, a writer of travels, a dramatist, a novelist, a writer on medical subjects, and a miscellaneous author. It is only, however, as a novelist and a poet that he has any claims to the admiration of posterity.(Summary from the Explanatory Notes by The Rev. George Gilfillan, Edinburgh)

 
http://www.archive.org/download/song_fondrapture_1110_librivox/song_whilewithfond_smollett_rn_64kb.mp3″Running time=1m 57s (mp3@64kb)

Download locations: mp3 128kb : mp3 64kb : ogg vorbis.
Catalogue pages: LibriVox, Internet Archive.
Zip of the entire book (12.9MB@64kb), featuring all 16 readers of this poem.

Song
While with fond rapture and amaze,
On thy transcendent charms I gaze,
My cautious soul essays in vain
Her peace and freedom to maintain:
Yet let that blooming form divine,
Where grace and harmony combine,
Those eyes, like genial orbs that move,
Dispensing gladness, joy, and love,
In all their pomp assail my view,
Intent my bosom to subdue,
My breast, by wary maxims steel’d,
Not all those charms shall force to yield.

But when, invoked to Beauty’s aid,
I see the enlighten’d soul display’d;
That soul so sensibly sedate
Amid the storms of froward fate,
Thy genius active, strong, and clear,
Thy wit sublime, though not severe,
The social ardour, void of art,
That glows within thy candid heart;
My spirits, sense, and strength decay,
My resolution dies away,
And, every faculty oppress’d,
Almighty Love invades my breast!

This week’s poem can be found here.

Author: raven

Anonymous ;-)

Comments are closed.