ravenotation

My LibriVox recordings & my reading journal (solo Litblog).

1st To Die notes; Chapters 5 to 7

cover for 1st To Die

Chapter 5

Detective Inspector Lindsay Boxer is called to the scene of the homicide, protocol is followed even though she is still reeling from her doctor’s appointment.

I kept hearing the doctor’s words sounding over and over in my head. In severe cases, Negli’s can be fatal.

The reader is then following her as she approaches the Mandarin Suite and the final resting place of David and Melanie Brandt. Jacobi, her partner is described and introduced, somewhat briefly but Charlie Clapper, who is the Crime Scene Unit crew chief, gets even less. He’s reduced to 2 lines worth. I can only imagine that he isn’t as important to her as her partner who introduces his superior to the crime scene upon entering the room. Seeing the groom doesn’t faze her, the bride is another matter entirely and Jacobi’s flippant nature hardly prepares her.

I’d been to a hundred homicides and could radar in on the body as quick as anyone, but this I wasn’t prepared for. It sent a wave of compassion racing down my spine.
The bride was still in her wedding dress.


Chapter 6

You never see so many murder victims that it stops making you hurt, but this one was especially hard to look at.

Her partner, Warren Jacobi, is either crude & cold or just prefers to seem that way. Hard to tell yet. D.I. Boxer is taking things hard, I doubt Lindsay cries at many crime scenes but then she also has her current health to think about. I expect she’s feeling more than a little off-kilter.

Her partners jokes are in bad taste but she’s used to him and at least it’s a few moments of normalcy that brings her back into the here & now, and her job. There are people to question, staff members to investigate, and the family of the deceased are still in the hotel. She needs to stay focused …

I had a bad, bad feeling about this one. If it’s not about money… then… sex.

… because her hunch may just be spot on.

Chapter 7

The howling screams of police and emergency vehicles filled the air.
This was so unlike civilized and respectable San Francisco. He loved it.

I’ve no idea if some murderers feel compelled to visit the crime scene again or if they get extra jollies from knowing the police have no idea the murderer is close enough to swipe a doughnut, but this killer does.
I wonder how much research the author did and what the process was, exactly. In any case, Phillip Campbell returns to quietly stalk the police, gloat and revel in his new-found nefarious fame.
Excuse me while a quietly shiver for a moment.

Author: raven

Anonymous ;-)

Comments are closed.