ravenotation

My LibriVox recordings & my reading journal (solo Litblog).

Moth Terror by Benjamin De Casseres

LibriVox logoLibriVox volunteers bring you 17 recordings of Moth Terror by Benjamin De Casseres (1873-1945). This was the Fortnightly Poetry project for February 13 – February 27th, 2011.

Benjamin De Casseres was an American journalist and author. He worked for various New York City newspapers writing columns and editorials. He also wrote poetry, fiction, essays, and critical reviews. (wikipedia) This poem taken from The Second Book of Modern Verse: A Selection from the Work of Contemporaneous American Poets, edited by Jessie B. Rittenhouse. (1869 – 1948)
http://www.archive.org/download/moth_terror_1102_librivox/mothterror_casseres_rn_64kb.mp3″Running time=1m 11s (mp3@64kb)


Download locations: mp3 128kb : mp3 64kb : ogg vorbis.
Catalogue pages: LibriVox, Internet Archive.
Zip of the entire book (9.1MB@64kb), featuring all the different readers for this project.

Moth Terror
I HAVE killed the moth flying around my night-light; wingless and dead it lies upon the floor.
(O who will kill the great Time-Moth that eats holes in my soul and that burrows in and through my secretest veils!)
My will against its will, and no more will it fly at my night-light or be hidden behind the curtains that swing in the winds.
(But O who will shatter the Change-Moth that leaves me in rags—tattered old tapestries that swing in the winds that blow out of Chaos!)
Night-Moth, Change-Moth, Time-Moth, eaters of dreams and of me!

This fortnight’s poem can be found here.

Author: raven

Anonymous ;-)

Comments are closed.