ravenotation

My LibriVox recordings & my reading journal (solo Litblog).

Oh, No – Not Even When First We Loved by Thomas Moore

LibriVox logo LibriVox volunteers bring you 18 recordings of Oh, No – Not Even When First We Loved by Thomas Moore (1779-1852). This was the Weekly Poetry Valentine’s project for February 13 – February 20th, 2011.

Thomas Moore (28 May 1779 – 25 February 1852) was an Irish poet, singer, songwriter, and entertainer, now best remembered for the lyrics of The Minstrel Boy and The Last Rose of Summer. He was responsible, with John Murray, for burning Lord Byron’s memoirs after his death. In his lifetime he was often reffered to as Anacreon Moore. (summary by Wikipedia)
http://www.archive.org/download/noteven_whenfirst_1102_librivox/notevenwhen_moore_rn_64kb.mp3″Running time=1m 27s (mp3@64kb)


Download locations: mp3 128kb : mp3 64kb : ogg vorbis.
Catalogue pages: LibriVox, Internet Archive.
Zip of the entire book (11.7MB@64kb), featuring all the different readers for this project.

Thomas Moore
(CASHMERIAN AIR.)

Oh, no—not even when first we loved,
Wert thou as dear as now thou art;
Thy beauty then my senses moved,
But now thy virtues bind my heart.
What was but Passion’s sigh before,
Has since been turned to Reason’s vow;
And, though I then might love thee more,
Trust me, I love thee better now.
Altho’ my heart in earlier youth
Might kindle with more wild desire,
Believe me, it has gained in truth
Much more than it has lost in fire.
The flame now warms my inmost core,
That then but sparkled o’er my brow,
And, though I seemed to love thee more,
Yet, oh, I love thee better now.

This week’s poem can be found here.

Author: raven

Anonymous ;-)

Comments are closed.