ravenotation

My LibriVox recordings & my reading journal (solo Litblog).

A Birthday by Christina Rossetti

LibriVox logoLibriVox volunteers bring you 14 recordings of A Birthday by Christina Rossetti (1830-1894). This was the Weekly Poetry project for June 13th – June 20th, 2010.

http://www.archive.org/download/birthday_1006_librivox/birthday_rossetti_rn_64kb.mp3″Running time=1m 20s (mp3@64kb)


Download locations: mp3 128kb : mp3 64kb : ogg vorbis.
Catalogue pages: LibriVox, Internet Archive.
Zip of the entire book (7.1MB@64kb), featuring all the different readers for this project.

A Birthday
My heart is like a singing bird
Whose nest is in a water’d shoot;
My heart is like an apple-tree
Whose boughs are bent with thick-set fruit;
My heart is like a rainbow shell
That paddles in a halcyon sea;
My heart is gladder than all these,
Because my love is come to me.

Raise me a daïs of silk and down;
Hang it with vair and purple dyes;
Carve it in doves and pomegranates,
And peacocks with a hundred eyes;
Work it in gold and silver grapes,
In leaves and silver fleurs-de-lys;
Because the birthday of my life
Is come, my love is come to me.

This week’s poem can be found here.

Author: raven

Anonymous ;-)

Comments are closed.