ravenotation

My LibriVox recordings & my reading journal (solo Litblog).

Short Poetry Collection 083

LibriVox logo
This is a collection of poems submitted by LibriVox volunteers for the months of September and October 2009.

The collection features a total of 32 poems.
I chose to record Alchemy and Sonnet XLIII for this collection.

Alchemy by Sara Teasdale (1884-1933)
In memory of my beloved Mother.
http://www.archive.org/download/short_poetry_083_librivox_0911/alchemy_teasdale_rn_64kb.mp3″Running time=44s (mp3@64kb)

Sonnet XLIII by Elizabeth Barrett Browning (1806-1861)
http://www.archive.org/download/short_poetry_083_librivox_0911/sonnetxliii_browning_rn_64kb.mp3″Running time=1m 19s (mp3@64kb)


Alchemy

I Lift my heart as spring lifts up
A yellow daisy to the rain;
My heart will be a lovely cup
Altho’ it holds but pain.

For I shall learn from flower and leaf
That color every drop they hold,
To change the lifeless wine of grief
To living gold.

This poem can also be found here.

Sonnet XLIII

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.
I love thee to the depth and breadth and height
My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight
For the ends of Being and ideal Grace.
I love thee to the level of everyday’s
Most quiet need, by sun and candle-light.
I love thee freely, as men strive for Right;
I love thee purely, as they turn from Praise.
I love thee with the passion put to use
In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith.
I love thee with a love I seemed to lose
With my lost saints, -I love thee with the breath,
Smiles, tears, of all my life! – and, if God choose,
I shall but love thee better after death.

This poem can also be found here.

Download locations:
Alchemy; mp3 128kb : mp3 64kb : ogg vorbis

Sonnet XLIII; mp3 128kb : mp3 64kb : ogg vorbis.

Catalogue pages for this collection: LibriVox, Internet Archive.
Zip of the entire book (40MB@64kb), featuring all the different poems submitted by various readers.

Author: raven

Anonymous ;-)

Comments are closed.