ravenotation

My LibriVox recordings & my reading journal (solo Litblog).

Retort by Paul Laurence Dunbar

LibriVox logoLibriVox volunteers bring you 14 recordings of Retort by Paul Laurence Dunbar (1872-1906). This was the weekly poetry project for August 23rd, 2009.
http://www.archive.org/download/retort_0908_librivox/retort_dunbar_rn_64kb.mp3″Running time=55s (mp3@64kb)

Thou art a fool,” said my head to my heart,
“Indeed, the greatest of fools thou art,
To be led astray by trick of a tress,
By a smiling face or a ribbon smart;”
And my heart was in sore distress.

Then Phyllis came by, and her face was fair,
The light gleamed soft on her raven hair;
And her lips were blooming a rosy red.
Then my heart spoke out with a right bold air:
“Thou art worse than a fool, O head!”

This week’s poem can also be found here.

Download locations: mp3 128kb : mp3 64kb : ogg vorbis.
Catalogue pages: LibriVox, Internet Archive.
Zip of the entire book (5.7MB@64kb), featuring all the different readers for this project.

Author: raven

Anonymous ;-)

Comments are closed.