ravenotation

My LibriVox recordings & my reading journal (solo Litblog).

World War Z notes; Goodbyes chapters 11, 12 & 13. The End.

World War Z

Disclaimer: notes transcribed as is, no editing has been made so as to preserve my original feelings as I read the chapter.

Part 8, Goodbyes; Chapter 11, Jurgen Warmbrunn.

I was in the “Kindertransport,” the last chance to get Jewish children out of Germany. That was the last time I saw any of my family alive.

I can understand why he was a part of this task force, as a German Jew he would want to save as many of his people as possible, but why only Jewish children?

Colour me stupid if you wish, but given the circumstances, wouldn’t it be more advantageous to save as many children as possible? regardless of their creed, nationality or shoe size?

But then, maybe that’s just me.

It’s interesting to read about his comparisons between WWZ survivors and those who survived the Holocaust of WWII.

I’ve heard it said that the Holocaust has no survivors, that even those who managed to remain technically alive were so irreparably damaged…

All things considered, the survivors of WWZ had the easier deal compared to the few Holocaust survivors.

Zombies don’t care whom they eat. They are completely unprejudiced.

Can’t say the same for the Nazi SS though.


Part 8, Goodbyes; Chapter 12, Master Chief Petty Officer Michael Choi.

Michael has a very strong argument for his closing chapter.

Nature has indeed suffered, and I am not at all surprised at the extinction of many marine species. I’ll bet a few species have gone the way of the Dodo across the planet.

So the next time someone tries to tell you about how the true losses of this war are “our innocence” or “part of our humanity”…

[He spits into the water.]

Whatever, bro. Tell it to the whales.

Extreme climate change brought about by the nuclear winter, hunting due to the shortage of food, zombies roaming the earth making any kind of mass scale agriculture impossible; all these things have been a major contribution towards the extinction of almost all species of whales (& many other marine wildlife that Michael does not mention).

With the lack of any greedy, industrialist society to run them, you’d think the survivors would learn from past mistakes, get back to basics and re-learn to harmonise with the natural world rather than living in discord and destroying what little they have left.

I’m sure Michael would say it’s already too late.


Part 8, Goodbyes; Chapter 13, Todd Wainio.

One last note from Todd.

About avoiding complete breakdown’s, surviving and his being turned into a national icon of the victory.

Like those others who suffered a complete mental breakdown, it’s the little things that set him off.

Doctor Chandra told me it was cool though. He counsels right here at the VA. He told me once that it’s a totally healthy thing, like little earthquakes releasing pressure off of a fault.

Without those little “minor tremors” he would have fallen apart, like Sergeant Avalon.

Memory is a complex thing, a sound or smell can remind a person of a completely unrelated event. Or of another person, loved or despised.

I’m not sure if he can really relate to that statue depicting VA Day. Sure, he recognises his own face on the mural, but the event that is based on?

That was us, standing on the Jersey riverbank, watching the dawn over New York.

I don’t suppose he could relate victory to that moment. It must have been difficult to realise that you didn’t have to fight any more, after so long in the dark, thinking that perhaps he’d spend his entire life fighting against Zack. Constantly wondering if each moment would be his last.

All that was gone, to be replaced with an unknown commodity. A future.

Would anyone really understand that in that one moment?

It would take a very long time for anyone to finally be able to breath with the kind of ease an ordinary citizen, who doesn’t know the fight for life, takes for granted.

The End.

Final thoughts.

It’s been a few months since I started reading World War Z, certainly it didn’t take me as long with the audio book, but it’s been enlightening.

Some things that Max Brooks writes about have really gotten to me, others have gotten under my skin and others still have outright vexed me.

At no point have I been outraged, even by some of the swearing. The fictional characters are portrayed with a realism usually found in a history book, I found myself loving & loathing characters with equal vehemence.

Having a more than casual interest in historical events of our species, I found myself seeing similarities in the events depicted & often commented so. I couldn’t really help myself, but I’ve tried to write honestly & genuinely.

One of the reasons why I try not to censure my thoughts/writings too much. Although, I would try to use my dictionary more often when it came to thinking of my swearing. Swearing is okay if used sporadically & only within the company of certain close friends & relatives, but I try not to swear all the time or in public and certainly rarely with any malice. Therefore, I’ve tried to do the same while writing. A challenge & no mistake, please excuse me while a chuckle a little bit.

I do hope my grammar is improving though, I’ve always been a little slack in correcting my grammar even though I’ll correct my spelling.

I do hope Max writes more novels, although he can write zombies & about humans encounters with zombies, I find myself wondering what other subjects & genres he could write about. Who knows what the future of his career holds, maybe he’ll focus his attention solely on script-writing. Certainly he has a lot to say concerning the social & political state of the world, that comes across in the many characters he writes. Some of which I agree with.

On another note, I have heard that the book rights to World War Z have been sold to Brad Pitt’s production company and that a screenplay is being drafted with J. Michael Straczynski’s name tagged to it. Whether the film treatment can capture the feel, reality & emotion of this phenomenal book, only time can tell.

Apparently I won’t have to wait too long as a website has appeared giving a date of September 8th 2010.

The website is appropriately named “It Starts With The Flu” although I can only surmise that it is connected to the movie. (Dead link, no pun intended :))

With the current flu pandemic, and that of the last flu pandemics getting front page news, it’s difficult not to see parallels and wonder. Will the end of humanity be brought about by a strain of flu virus? Or is there some other virus lurking in some frozen pool of water, awaiting humankind to become it’s new host?

Although having said that, I read that the current Swine Flu is an old virus, who’s original strain has been with us since the early 20th century. I don’t expect it will be any curable a century from now either.

Author: raven

Anonymous ;-)

Comments are closed.