ravenotation

My LibriVox recordings & my reading journal (solo Litblog).

Short Poetry Collection 078

LibriVox logoThe “LibriVox Short Poetry Collection 078”, is an open collection of poems for the month of April 2009.

The two recordings I chose for this collection are Eldorado and Requiem.

Eldorado by Edgar Allan Poe (1809-1849)
http://www.archive.org/download/short_poetry_078_0905_librivox/eldorado_poe_rn_64kb.mp3″Running time=1m 3s (mp3 64kb)

Requiem by Robert Louis Stevenson (1850-1894)
http://www.archive.org/download/short_poetry_078_0905_librivox/requiem_stevenson_rn_64kb.mp3″Running time=44s (mp3 64kb)


Eldorado

Gayly bedight,
A gallant knight,
In sunshine and in shadow,
Had journeyed long,
Singing a song,
In search of Eldorado.

But he grew old,
This knight so bold,
And o’er his heart a shadow
Fell as he found
No spot of ground
That looked like Eldorado.

And, as his strength
Failed him at length,
He met a pilgrim shadow:
“Shadow,” says he,
“Where can it be,
This land of Eldorado?”

Over the Mountains
Of the Moon,
Down the Valley of the Shadow,
Ride, boldly ride,”
The shade replied,
“If you seek for Eldorado!”

This poem can be found here.

My favourite verse has to be the last verse.
I think I first heard this, when I was very young, from the John Wayne movie El Dorado (1966). It’s stayed with me ever since.
The poem is recited by Mississippi played by James Caan, but only three out of the four verses. Caan’s character never recites the second verse about the knight’s failure to find Eldorado. I’ve never been sure why.

Requiem

Under the wide and starry sky,
Dig the grave and let me lie.
Glad did I live and gladly die,
And I laid me down with a will.

This be the verse you grave for me:
‘Here he lies where he longed to be;
Here is the sailor, home from the sea,
And the hunter home from the hill.’

This poem can be found here.

I found this while perusing the poems at the Poets’ Corner web site.
Having read Stevenson’s most popular works of fiction throughout my life, I was aware of Requiem only in that it is the inscription on the author’s tomb.
I found it to be a beautiful, if sad, epitaph.

Download locations:
Eldorado; mp3 128kb : mp3 64kb : ogg vorbis.

Requiem; mp3 128kb : mp3 64kb : ogg vorbis.

Catalogue pages for this collection: LibriVox and Internet Archive.
Feel free to download the entire collection (23MB@64Kbps), and enjoy the diverse selection of poems chosen and recorded by my fellow LibriVox’ers.

Author: raven

Anonymous ;-)

Comments are closed.