ravenotation

My LibriVox recordings & my reading journal (solo Litblog).

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz; Notes on Chapters 23 & 24

Wonderful Wizard of Oz, The

Chapter 23. Glinda The Good Witch Grants Dorothy’s Wish

Disclaimer: notes transcribed as is, no editing has been made so as to preserve my original feelings as I read the chapter.

So Glinda’s castle may not be made of rubies but her throne is. Her dress though, is the white of a powerful sorceress which is to be expected.

Dorothy puts her case to the kindly Glinda, even being concerned that her family would be terribly worse off should they arrange a mourning for her. She still remembers that her family is poor even through her great adventures.

Well it seems it is Glinda and not Dorothy who will free the Winged Monkeys, after having used her three wishes to return the companions to the new kingdoms of course. I agree with Dorothy, Glinda really is good. She could have used the Golden Cap for her own purposes but she chooses not to.

Ah, so the Silver Shoes (or Slippers depending on which chapter I’m reading) can get Dorothy home and Glinda helpfully informs her how. Good job the Good Witch of the North didn’t tell her or there’d be no story.

And so with three clicks of her heels, Dorothy & Toto are home again.

Afterthoughts
Glinda only mentioned this one power of the Silver Shoes, she doesn’t mention what it’s other powers might be. Dorothy loses the Silver Shoes during the journey home so I may never know what else they could do, unless they are found during one of the other books in the series.

When she arrives home, Aunt Em & Uncle Henry are performing their daily tasks. Does this mean that Dorothy wasn’t away for very long, or was her disappearance just treated as terrible tragedy and that life goes on.


Chapter 24. Home Again

Disclaimer: notes transcribed as is, no editing has been made so as to preserve my original feelings as I read the chapter.

Whatever my thoughts at the end of chapter 23, it’s obvious that Dorothy is welcomed with sincerity and love and that’s the kind of homecoming that everyone deserves.

Afterthoughts
I will now consider this one of favourite books, a long list already.
I’ll give Oz a rest but I will be visiting the next book in the series. Maybe I’ll be able to read the next book a little faster than this, although most of my total reading time is also writing time as I have made all my notes while reading the book.

Author: raven

Anonymous ;-)

Comments are closed.