ravenotation

My LibriVox recordings & my reading journal (solo Litblog).

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz; Notes on Chapter 20

Wonderful Wizard of Oz, The

Chapter 20. The Dainty China Country

Disclaimer: notes transcribed as is, no editing has been made so as to preserve my original feelings as I read the chapter.

Well I was wrong about the white wall, I don’t mind though because if the book was that predictable it would negate the reason for reading it. If it was a boring book then I wouldn’t bother finishing it, never mind considering a re-read in the future.

I like the idea of a china cup being inhabited by people & animals made of china. It’s all really very sweet. Reminds me of an animal farm toy set I had as a child, before I was introduced to the wonder that is Lego.
I would have liked to met the mender, must take him or her ages to fix the clown.

Afterthoughts
Although the China Country wasn’t dangerous, it was novel and I’m glad that the journey isn’t constantly fraught with dangers.
I’ll bet the residents of this Country will be glad to see the five of them leave, having injured a milkmaid & her cow wasn’t enough damage. When they climbed the wall to leave they successfully decimated a church in the process.
Very careless of them, not to mention insensitive to the diminutive township.

Now, it may be taking me a while to read this book, but it’s far from being a boring read. The China Country is just another example of how much I am loving this book.
I can’t fathom why it took me so long to find Oz.

Author: raven

Anonymous ;-)

Comments are closed.