ravenotation

My LibriVox recordings & my reading journal (solo Litblog).

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz; Notes on Chapter 17

Wonderful Wizard of Oz, The

Chapter 17. How the Balloon Was Launched

Disclaimer: notes transcribed as is, no editing has been made so as to preserve my original feelings as I read the chapter.

If nothing else, the Great Oz is a truely fantastic con-man. All three of Dorothy’s companions are blissfully happy. Damn, Oz is good. It reminds me of some thoughts I expressed at the beginning of the book; the brains, heart & courage really has been there from the start.
Oz may have duped them but I must admit, he has given them the self-confidence they were lacking.

Dorothy agrees to help Oz create a hot-air balloon. It makes sense, both Oz & Dorothy arrived by air (with some major help from nature), so the way home would have to be through flight. Pity Toto ruins her chances.

Afterthoughts
Poor Dorothy, she waits for days until Oz sends for her and it’s another three days before the balloon is ready for take-off.
Seeing Oz fly away must be a disheartening thing to see. But Oz didn’t know for sure which way Kansas & Omaha lies, so who’s to say if even he made it home. He could have landed in Tibet for all I know, Baum tells me nothing.

On a side note, Oz must have been confident about Scarecrow’s level of intelligence to leave him in charge of the Emerald City. This should boost Scarcrow’s confidence levels even more, however frightening the prospect may be.

Author: raven

Anonymous ;-)

Comments are closed.