ravenotation

My LibriVox recordings & my reading journal (solo Litblog).

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz; Notes on Chapter 16

Wonderful Wizard of Oz, The

Chapter 16. The Magic Art of the Great Humbug

Disclaimer: notes transcribed as is, no editing has been made so as to preserve my original feelings as I read the chapter.

Oz grants Scarecrow, Tin-man & Lion’s wishes and he does so in such a way that it reminds me of those snake-oil travelling salesmen frequently seen in old Western movies.
He really is such a conniving confidence trickster.
Lion’s comment about Scarecrow’s “bran-new” brains had me bark out in laughter. Sharp indeed.

Afterthoughts
How the hell did the Great Oz come to power?
He must be very charismatic as he is anything but powerful or magical. A Wicked Witch turned a living flesh and bone man into a living man made of tin, I think the group should consider finding a Good Witch to perform similar powerful magic instead of this fraudulent Great Oz.

Author: raven

Anonymous ;-)

Comments are closed.