ravenotation

My LibriVox recordings & my reading journal (solo Litblog).

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz; Notes on Chapter 11

Wonderful Wizard of Oz, The

Chapter 11. The Emerald City of Oz

Disclaimer: notes transcribed as is, no editing has been made so as to preserve my original feelings as I read the chapter.

Everything is green inside the City of Oz too. Not surprising, I’d have benn more surprised had it not been so. Dorothy shouldn’t be surprised either as her glasses, having a grent tint, would make most things appear green even if they were not. It is strange that there appear to be no animals. It wasn’t difficult to find glasses for both Toto & Lion.

I wonder why the Great Oz will only grant an audience to one of the group per day. He couldn’t be that busy surely. And what is he afraid of that he does not show his face to his people. He must be curious of Dorothy then, to allow her to see him. The blessing on her forehead and her silver slippers have done much for Dorothy’s good fortune.

Alas, the Great Oz dare not show his true face, he does appear to like disguises but at this point in the story, I can’t help but be influenced by the movie.
Concerning the task he has set, the murder of the Wicked West of the West, Dorothy does have a point. If Oz can’t kill the witch, what made him think she could. I’d have thought silver slippers & a kissed forehead can only help her so much.

Afterthoughts
I think I understand where the Great Oz must have gotten his reputation from. I am willing to bet the wizard has set the same demands to all who come before him asking for help. A reputation well deserved.

Author: raven

Anonymous ;-)

Comments are closed.