ravenotation

My LibriVox recordings & my reading journal (solo Litblog).

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz; Notes on Chapter 4

Wonderful Wizard of Oz, The
Chapter 4. The Road Through the Forest

Disclaimer: notes transcribed as is, no editing has been made so as to preserve my original feelings as I read the chapter.

There is no place like home.

True, Dorothy may be awed by the spectacular landscape of Oz but she knows that it is people that make a home. She obviously misses her family very much. I like this little girl already. She is more than willing to traverse Oz despite the possibility of danger and without the assurance that the wizard can even help her. It is perhaps a good thing that the scarecrow cannot eat as Dorothy’s supply of food is not infinite.

Scarecrow’s story was amusing. From his point of view, being given first ears and then eyes, all painted in an unsymmetrical fashion must give him a lop sided sense of the world around him but to converse with a crow about the nature of brains & men had me chuckling. What a sight that would be!

As night falls, the company of three find a cottage to spend the night in, although no-one checked for occupants which is a dangerous habit to pick up.
And so to sleep.

Afterthoughts
I still find the a crow chatting to and comforting a scarecrow amusing. So much so, that I went back and re-read it.

Author: raven

Anonymous ;-)

Comments are closed.