ravenotation

My LibriVox recordings & my reading journal (solo Litblog).

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz; Notes on Chapter 1

Wonderful Wizard of Oz, The
Chapter 1. The Cyclone

Disclaimer: notes transcribed as is, no editing has been made so as to preserve my original feelings as I read the chapter.

Everything is grey. Dull. Without the spark of life. Even Aunt Em & Uncle Henry.
It must be rough living in so hostile an environment, let alone try to farm this land.
All the while, taking in an orphan and raising her. And yet Dorothy still laughs and smiles in this grey world. She has not yet had life sucked out of her, she has yet to be defeated, conquered by this harsh realm.
Even when the cyclone sweeps the house away, Dorothy does not scream or yell for help, but instead calmly rides the storm. The way she calmly yanks Toto from danger and allows herself to be lulled to sleep by the storm rocking the house. This girl is not so easily shaken.

Afterthoughts.
An interesting start to a story I thought I knew so well.
I’ve done some light research, comparing the familier movie and Baum’s first book, and it seems I may well have grossly underestimated this book for far too long.
Over the years, I’ve made several attempts to obtain a copy of this book to read, but I always got sidetracked by other books. More modern material. And then, as some might say, “why read the book, when you can just watch the movie?”.
I may have already mentioned this before, but books that become movies are not always faithful adaptations. This book may prove to be yet more evidence to this.
I did think of cheating and just listening to the LibriVox variety of this text, but my rule is to only write about the books I will read. Not listen to. Although I’ll end up downloading the LV version afterwards if I enjoy the book. One must plan for boring journeys and appointments. I’ve always had an impatience problem with waiting rooms.

Author: raven

Anonymous ;-)

Comments are closed.