ravenotation

My LibriVox recordings & my reading journal (solo Litblog).

Upon His Mistress Dancing by James Shirley

LibriVox logoLibriVox volunteers bring you 23 recordings of Upon His Mistress Dancing by James Shirley (1596-1666). This was the Weekly Poetry project for January 15th to January 22nd, 2012.

James Shirley (sometimes spelt Sherley) was a prolific English playwright and poet who was active in the first half of the seventeenth century.
(Summary by Lucy Perry)


 
http://www.archive.org/download/mistressdancing_1201_librivox/uponhismistressdancing_shirley_rn.mp3″Running time=49s (mp3@64kb)

Download locations: mp3 128kb : mp3 64kb : ogg vorbis.
Catalogue pages: LibriVox, Internet Archive.
Zip of the entire book (7.7MB@64kb), featuring all 23 readers of this poem.
(Total running time: 0:16:00)

In addition to the readers, this audio book was produced by:
Book Coordinator: Lucy Perry
Meta-Coordinator/Cataloging: David Lawrence

Upon His Mistress Dancing
I stood and saw my mistress dance,
Silent, and with so fix’d an eye,
Some might suppose me in a trance;
But being asked why,
By one that knew I was in love,
I could not but impart
My wonder, to behold her move
So nimbly with a marble heart.

This week’s poem can be found here.

Author: raven

Anonymous ;-)

Comments are closed.